Co-operative Programme for the Exchange of Scientific and Technical Information on Nuclear Installation Decommissioning Projects (CPD)
Joint project

The International Co-operative Programme for the Exchange of Scientific and Technical Information Concerning Nuclear Installation Decommissioning Projects (CPD) is a joint undertaking of a limited number of organisations actively executing or planning the decommissioning of nuclear facilities. The objective of the CPD Programme, launched in 1985, is to exchange and share information from operational experience in decommissioning nuclear installations useful for current and future projects. Initially consisting of 10 decommissioning projects in 8 countries, the programme has since grown to the present 73 projects (43 reactors and 30 fuel cycle facilities) in 15 NEA member countries, two non-NEA members and the European Commission (EC). The current agreement came into force on 1 January 2019 and expires on 31 December 2023.

Information exchange also ensures that best international practice is made widely available and encourages the application of safe, environmentally sound and cost effective methods in all decommissioning projects. Biannual meetings of the Technical Advisory Group (TAG) are held, during which the site of one of the participating projects is visited, and positive and less positive examples of decommissioning experience are openly exchanged for the benefit of all. At the end of each year, CPD Management Board meeting is held at NEA headquarters near Paris in France.

To make use of decommissioning knowledge and experience accumulated within the CPD, a database, called the TAG Knowledge Base, was created on the NEA website to allow CPD members to easily access the CPD reactor project and fuel facility information. The database is to be continuously updated with data from CPD members shared during TAG meetings.

CPD members' area (password protected | reminder)


Belgium, Canada, Chinese Taipei, Denmark, European Commission, France, Germany, Italy, Lithuania, Japan, Korea, Russia, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and United States.

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) participates in as an observer.

Project period

January 2019-December 2023


EUR 81 K